Meditation Monday: Yes, and…

middle pillar

I read recently that the benefits of meditation won’t really kick in until my meditation practice is consistent (as in, close to daily) for an extended period of time (as in 8 consecutive weeks or more) and goes for at least 15 minutes.

A year ago, this would have put me off meditating faster than it takes for a thought, any thought,  to capture my attention. Nanoseconds. Well, I don’t practice every day consistently – yet. When I do it tends to be about 15 minutes, which is about how long it takes for me to count 100 breaths, and that just happens to match the research.

If you’re a beginning meditator you might well respond to the discipline of 15 minutes everyday when starting out. But if you’re anything like me, I know you’re out there, it might be all you can do to sit for 5 minutes, 3 minutes (?) when you first start.

I say do it anyway.

I say yes,  the measurable benefits might not kick in until farther down the road. And, in order to travel that road, you have to step onto it, maybe even just for a minute so you can see that it isn’t too rocky or dangerous. “Learning” to meditate is really about learning about you anyway, so why not start here, now, right where you are?

Today I meditated by saying “yes” on my inhale and “and” on my exhale. Try it if you want and let me know how it goes.

If you like this sort of thing, here’s some new research on changes in the brain due to meditation

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S092549271000288X

judy@moveintochange.com     917.450.1524 moveintochange.com

Leave a Reply

