Meditation Monday: Why Not?

middle pillarYesterday I spent the afternoon in a circle of writers. Why not?

My friend Steve Lewis gathers his friends and writing group members for an annual summer day response to a prompt. This year it was, “Why Not?”

I could be a listener or write something too. Why not?

Why, not?

Oh, and it had to be exactly 87 words.

I wrote something I didn’t much like.  I chickened out  when the time came. But, I was inspired. And, they were nice people too. Why not now?

Premeditated Chatter in Exactly 87 Words

It’s too hot.                                                                                                                       It’s too cold.

It’s very dark,                                                                                                                        I’m too old.

I could just work, my emails ding.                                                                                  Don’t be jerk — think about other things.

I can’t sit still,                                                                                                                   my desk’s a mess,                                                                                                              my hair is dirty and I confess I don’t much want to meditate.                                      Besides, I just ate.                                                                                                           Aren’t I supposed to wait an hour or two?

My bed’s unmade,                                                                                                           My hair is dirty,                                                                                                                      Oh my God it’s now 9:30!                                                                                                     I can’t, there’s a deadline today…                                                                                    Why not count breaths anyway?

You might want to check out moveintochange.com too. That’s where there’s info about life coaching and coaching with me. You can sign up for occasional emails with tips and tools for self coaching and more. Go… and then go forth and tell your friends. Thanks.

Want to ask a private question? email: judy@moveintochange.com

Leave a Reply

