Maple syrup, Inner DJ and what I can’t show you in a blog

maple-budsI get downright giddy when I see the baby leaf buds on the maple tree outside my window.

They remind me that while I was padding around in triple layers of clothing (in April!), the forces that be were taking care of things under the surface.

I don’t know why I forget this. It’s not that I don’t remember the basics of earth science. It’s that, just like everyone else, I lose contact with the fact that I know. When it’s cold and gray, I feel like I’m never going to see green ever again.

The same thing can happen when I’m working on a project. I start to wonder if I’ll ever be able to get there.

It can happen when making a big or big-ish decision. I question how I’ll know.

Or, I’m just tired of hearing my same answers to important questions.

I can get stuck. It might feel like confusion, or look like procrastination.

This kind of thing has probably happened to you.

So what can help?

Shaking up your thinking with  questions that challenge you can be great. Questions like, who says; what rules do you have about how you should behave (or who you should be), that are keeping you from moving forward;  if you secretly knew what to do, what would it be, or who are you trying to please.

AND, that may not be enough.  Let’s go back to the trees.

All manner of interesting processes were at work inside that maple tree long before I noticed its new growth.

What that means for us and our “stuck” is that in order to get to fresh ideas and discover next steps, we need to tap into the good stuff happening deeper under the bark.  Going there yields new, surprisingly useful and tasty information – think maple syrup.

How to tap in?

Below is a simple way to use music to access your intuition/under conscious knowing. I call it Inner DJ  (novice version).

By the way, you can access your inner knowing through collage, and with me in the flesh, by signing up for the Artful Insight Collage workshop. more here. I’ve got some cool coachy tricks to show you there that I can’t show you here in Blogland. In the meantime, Inner DJ,

  1. Tune into your body sensations by staging a sit in, or lowering your landing gear.
  2. Next bring to mind some place you’re either stuck, or a situation (thing, project, relationship, issue) and gently ask for some insight into it.
  3. Now scroll through your music playlist, or scan your CDs (or vinyl) and grab whatever gets your attention. Don’t ask why you picked something.
  4. Now look at the titles, listen to your picks.Something may set off an AHA! or it may be more subtle, like an image that pops in or a lyric you can’t get our of your head. It might not happen right away – could  though.
  5. Let yourself notice how this might affect the “thing” you were working on. Try not to force it.
  6. Then, IMPORTANT, leave it alone. Let it percolate. Good stuff will happen.

Like this? Please share. Thanks.                                                                                       Go to moveintochange for info about coaching and coaching with me.

Leave a Reply

