Meditation Monday Day #36: It’s Getting Better All The Time

meditation Monday large text boxSince last time:

Last week I was stuck and wondering if I could start meditating again after two days without and avoiding the third one. Then I went for a walk. Even though I didn’t want to meditate and even though my critters were YELLING at me to DO IT ALREADY, I chose kindness instead. Out walking, I listened to the crunch of my feet on the two day old snow and when I got back, without even thinking, I sat, breathed and counted. So much ease from a simple act of mercy. From then on I had no trouble choosing to sit and settle.

Two days ago, I even attempted to meditate in the passenger seat while my husband drove. Quite the challenge that. Each bump and swerve grabbed my attention. Hey, I tried.

Mostly during the week though, I noticed a habit of rushing the breaths as I neared 100. The thoughts went,  “Be done, be done, c’mon done.”  This tendency to barely put up with “here,” so I can get to “there,” matches a way of being in my life in general, a pattern. Right now, I’m halfway off the chair because I can hear visitors in the living room.

Instead, I’m slowing down, pausing, to give this moment my full attention. Breath comes more easily. Warmth is spreading around my collarbone, softening the bones and blurring my edges.  It’s Getting Better All The time pops into  my head.

Talk to me. How’s it going for you?

Have you noticed that it’s so much better when other people tackle a disciplined practice along with you?  It would be fantastic if you were doing it too. We can share stories – or not. You can just read, lurk about and observe – your call.

Want to ask a private question? email: judy@moveintochange.com

Related articles & photo credit:
  • photo detail from Breathing by Anne Lindberg at the Daum Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Also,I came across this today. It’s a fairly straight forward and very short explanation of why meditation is good for us and some basics about getting started. Could be useful.  http://www.youtube.co/watch?v=paTULfNHkWY
  • You might want to check out moveintochange.com too. That’s where there’s info about coaching and coaching with me. Go… and then go forth and tell your friends.
One thought on “Meditation Monday Day #36: It’s Getting Better All The Time

  1. Pingback: Standing at the Corner of Empathy and Compassion | Move Into Change

Leave a Reply

